Is it really so hard to find a proper but simple Linux blog client?

I think I’m having a bit of a hard time finding a simple Linux blog client.

The first thing I read, of course, was WordPress’s list. But I’m trying to find something I can run or compile on the old RedHat 9 at work. I do have a lot of newer libs available additionally there, albeit no Gnome ones.

So:

  • BloGTK requires newer libs than I have.
  • Drivel (Gnome based) requires newer libs than I have.
  • Performancing is a Firefox plugin.
  • JBlogEditor is Java. Hmm :-/ Looks nice though.
  • mudawin is also Java, and doesn’t seem to honor my HTTP proxy.
  • GnomeBlog is for the system tray (which I might not have when not using Gnome as my desktop).
  • Flock looks like a whole suite.

Freshmeat really wasn’t much help either.

Okay, I guess for the time being I’ll just fall back to using my treasured Opera browser, either under Windows or Linux, as I’m doing right now. But the visual editor feels kinda sluggish.

0 Responses to “Is it really so hard to find a proper but simple Linux blog client?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

